News Stories

Education: 01 March 2024

King’s Inns was the winner of The 2024 Eoin Higgins Memorial Moot

King’s Inns was the winner of The 2024 Eoin Higgins Memorial Moot

And the cup goes to King’s Inns! 

The King’s Inns team, formed by students Shane Molony, Mary O’Rourke, Laura Hogan and Ceara Tonna–Barthet were the winners of The Eoin Higgins Memorial Moot yesterday, with Shane Molony taking home the prize for best speaker overall. 

The moot was held at The Four Courts against The Institute of Professional Legal Studies Queen’s University Belfast. The IPLS team consisted of Timothy Moore, Killian Spence, Charles Gillan and Bláthnaid Evans, who also put on an impressive mooting performance.

The debate was a fierce and high–level competition in which students argued the legal issues in a problem designed by Gary Moloney BL and Morgane Conaty BL. Well done to all students involved and to coaches Declan Harmon BL (King’s Inns Higgins Team coach) and Diane Nixon BL (IPLS Higgins Team Coach). 

We are grateful as always to the Higgins family for their support for this event, and to Matthew Higgins for attending on behalf of the Higgins family. Thanks also to the Courts Service for allowing us to use the impressive surroundings of Court No 1 for this event. 

A special thanks to the judges The Hon Mr Justice Patrick Kinney, The Hon Mr Justice Gerard Hogan, and The Hon Mr Justice Siobhán Phelan, who dedicated their time to participate and engage with the students in this moot final, which is an important annual cross–border event.