News Stories

Education: 08 May 2024

McCarthy Impromptu Debate 2024

McCarthy Impromptu Debate 2024

McCarthy Impromptu Debate 2024 took place last week at King’s Inns


Michael White, Corina Farrell, Catey Clarkson, and David Irwin, spoke on the motion: ‘’This house believes that public houses should be permitted to remain open 24/7’’. Their contributions to the debate were light–hearted and humorous, in line with the tradition of this debate. 


Benchers Ms Justice Isobel Kennedy, Ms. Justice Emily Farrell, Ms. Justice Niamh Hyland, Mr. Justice Liam Kennedy, Constance Cassidy SC and Eddie Walsh SC kindly agreed to judge their performance and selected Corina Farrell as the winner of the debate.

winner mccarthyThe winner, Corina Farrell, being presented with the trophy by Niall McCarthy.

Students and guests from the audience at the debate: 


students2 students3

Congratulations to Corina Farrell and all the student participants!


About the Debate 

This light–hearted debate takes place each year at King’s Inns to honour the memory of the late Mr Justice Niall McCarthy, Judge of the Supreme Court, and his wife, Barbara, who died tragically in a car accident in 1992. The debate is one of two ways in which King’s Inns marks the life and contribution to the legal world of the McCarthys; the other is through the MCCARTHY BURSARY.